INTERVIEW: Justine Mitchell, owner of Chamomile Sanctuary Edinburgh

 

Seven years ago Justine Mitchell and her business partner Jill Kinsella saw a niche in Edinburgh for a beauty spa that could be a simple go-to for day-to-day treatments or it could be an indulgent retreat from the world. The result is Chamomile Sanctuary and I can’t stop going back. My sister and I indulged in pregnancy massages there when simultaneously pregnant, my friends took me there on a birthday where I was particularly blue and recently I just went there for me-time and had the most wonderful facial. Here Justine, as a beauty insider, shares her secrets.

What’s your daily beauty routine? I am most definitely a routine girl both morning and evening. I always cleanse in the morning followed by a serum in the colder weather to take the dryness off my skin after my shower, then my eye cream and moisturiser. In the evenings it’s the same routine, cleanse, eye cream and moisturise. I leave the serum off at night.

What do you use? All my products are Guinot. I use the Lait Hydra Confort (Comforting cleansing milk), Hydra Cellulaire Serum (Cell moisturising serum), Age Logic Yeux (Cell renewal for eyes) and Longue Vie Cellulaire (Youth Skin Renewing Moisturiser) and I also use the Mousse Nettoyante Bioxygene Cleansing Foam as my cleanser in the shower.

What’s your biggest skincare indulgence? – My Age Logic Yeux, which costs £81.75 to buy but it’s worth every penny. It rehydrates the eye area as well as tackles puffiness, dark circles and best of all it is great for firming. The eye area is very delicate and you should always use an eye cream under the eyes as opposed to a moisturiser.

And your favourite facial would be? Without a doubt the Guinot Hydraderm. This is a fab facial and I am always recommending it to clients. It’s an intensive facial which deep cleanses the skin giving you a rejuvenated and glowing complexion for about a week afterwards. Each facial is tailored to your skin type and you see results after one facial. I love it!

Your top three skincare tips for every woman would be? 1. Drink lots of water! It’s so good for your skin. 2. Put your eye cream on at least 30 mins before you go to bed so that it doesn’t all end up on your pillow! 3. Lastly, no matter how tired you are always take your make up off at night before you go to bed.

How would you describe Chamomile Sanctuary to someone who has never been? Chamomile is an elegant beauty sanctuary in the heart of the West End of Edinburgh. We’re more than just a beauty salon though. With our tranquil atmosphere and heavenly relaxation room, Chamomile is reminiscent of a luxurious hotel spa. 

And what would be three treatments that would create the ultimate Chamomile experience? We have created our own Chamomile Experiences, designed to leave you ready to meet the world again.  Our Chamomile Relax package offers three treatments, select a facial, body and hand/foot treatment from our exclusive menu. However, if it has to be individual treatments then of course we would recommend a Guinot facial tailored to fit your own skin; The Ultimate Aromatherapy Experience, a lovely full body massage with your chosen aromatherapy oil; and finally a Shellac Luxury Pedicure which includes heated booties and a glass of fizz!

Leave a comment